Sign In

Enter your username and password to sign into your account.



Forgot Password?
Business Partnership

This award recognizes media professional(s) achievement in planning and implementing an exemplary program that has had a measurable impact on its users.

The purpose of this annual award is to encourage initiative by highlighting collective efforts within a library/media center, wherein staff, administration and community members have successfully marshaled resources to benefit the students. Library or Media Center Professionals within the K-12 level are eligible for this award. A Highsmith cash award of $1,000 will be awarded at the discretion of the Awards Committee with Board approval. The recipient of the award shall meet the following criteria:

  • Active membership in WEMTA
  • Initiative through new ideas and methods, finding unique solutions to creating access to information.
  • Collaborative effort between media center staff, and others such as administration, teaching staff, and community members.
  • Significant contribution to their school and community
  • Significant growth of services and uses in the past 3-5 years
  • Programs may stand as models or prototypes that can be replicated in other library media centers

Directions for Nominations:

Nominations may be self-selected or made by colleagues, supervisors, or other members of WEMTA.
Complete the application form.
Send an email with file attachments that give the following information:

  • Narrative about the school’s media program and how it demonstrates achievement of each of the criteria for this award.
  • Any documents, testimonials, letters of recommendation, etc. as are deemed appropriate to support this nomination

The recipient(s) (up to two individuals) of the award will receive a cash prize and will be responsible for writing a follow-up letter to the award donor (Highsmith) indicating how the cash award was used to benefit their library media program.

Complete the form and send the email with attachments by January 15, 2013 to Malena Koplin.